Call for Papers

The Organising Committee of the Southern African Conference for Artificial Intelligence Research (SACAIR2021) invites the submission of full papers for presentation at the conference, to be held at Simbithi Country Club, Simbithi Eco-Estate, Dolphin Coast, KwaZulu-Natal, from 6 – 10 December 2021. The conference theme is ‘Artificial Intelligence for Science, Technology and Society’. The SACAIR series of conferences, held since 2019, aims to promote multi- and inter-disciplinary studies in artificial intelligence and provides a platform to researchers and practitioners from both academia as well as industry to meet and share cutting-edge developments in the field. The conference seeks significant contributions to all major fields of the Artificial Intelligence in both theoretical, application and practical aspects.

Conference Structure

6 December 2021:   Student unconference
7 December 2021:    Tutorials and Opening Ceremony
8 – 10 December 2021:     Conference

Conference Scope

We especially solicit submissions falling into the following broad themes, although we will consider other submissions should space on the programme allow:

  • Machine Learning
  • Knowledge Representation and Reasoning
  • Quantum Artificial Intelligence
  • Deep Learning
  • Computer Vision and Image Processing
  • Philosophy and Ethics of AI – Data ethics
    • Machine ethics
    • Ethics of socio-robotics
    • Neuro ethics
  • AI Information Systems – AI in and for Information Systems
    • AI and Socio-Technical Systems
    • AI Business Capability and AI-driven Business Models
    • AI supporting sustainable development and Biodiversity Informatics.
  • AI in the Humanities and Society – Aesthetics of AI
    • AI and the performing and visual arts
    • AI in education
    • AI and the Law
    • AI for Development and Social Good

Paper Submission

Full papers will undergo a double-blind peer-reviewing process, complying with the requirements of the South African DHET research output policy. Click here to submit abstracts and full papers in Easychair


Proceedings with all accepted papers for SACAIR will be made available online on the SACAIR website, and a selection of accepted papers will appear in a volume of Springer series (Communications in Computer and Information Science – CCIS), which is accredited by the South African DHET. All papers should report original research that has neither been published nor submitted for publication elsewhere. To comply with Springer publication guidelines manuscripts may be submitted through a plagiarism-checking tool, following both submissions for review and the arrival of the files at Springer. Please see the Springer website for more information. Detailed submission information and guidelines will be posted on the conference website ( All manuscripts must be formatted using Springer style files and templates ( Only submissions made in these formats will be considered for review. The style files and templates will be available through the conference website. Submissions must be between 12 to 15 pages (with 15 pages an absolute maximum). Authors will be required to submit a signed Consent to Publish form, through which the copyright of their paper is transferred to Springer. A link to the form and instructions will be provided on the conference website. An option for open access, at an additional cost, will be available to authors.

Important Dates (Updated 26 October 2021)

  • Abstracts Submission: 10 September 2021
  • Submission of Full Papers: 24 September 2021
  • Acceptance notification: 25 October 2021 New 2 November 2021
  • Final Papers (camera ready copies): 8 November 2021
  • Main Conference: 8 – 10 December 2021

Conference Website:
Any enquiries can be made to

Organising Committee

Prof Aurona Gerber (General Organising Co-chair)
Mr Anban Pillay (General Organising Co-chair)
Dr Edgar Jembere (Technical Programme Co-chair)
Prof Serestina Viriri (Technical Programme Co-chair)
Prof Francesco Petrucionne (Local Organising Committee)
Ms Yuvika Singh (Local Organising Committee)
Mr Sibonelo Dlamini (Local Organising Committee)
Mr Emile Engelbrecht (Local Organising Committee)

Steering Committee

Prof Emma Ruttkamp-Bloem (University of Pretoria)
Mr Anban Pillay (University of KwaZulu-Natal)
Prof Aurona Gerber (University of Pretoria)
Prof Alta de Waal (University of Pretoria)
Dr Edgar Jembere (University of KwaZulu-Natal)
Prof Serestina Viriri (University of KwaZulu-Natal)