SACAIR2021 Chairs

SACAIR2021 Chairs

Philosophy and Ethics of AI

Prof Emma Ruttkamp-Bloem
Professor and Head
Department of Philosophy, Faculty of Humanities
University of Pretoria

Prof Vincent Müller Professor
Industrial Engineering and Innovation Sciences,
Philosophy & Ethics
Technical University of Eindhoven

AI Information Systems

Dr Sunet Eybers
Associate Professor
Department of Informatics
University of Pretoria

Prof Knut Hinkelmann
Head of Master of Science in
Business Information Systems
FHNW University of Applied Sciences and Arts
Northwestern Switzerland

AI in the Humanities and Society

Prof Kevin Durrheim
School of Applied Human Sciences
University of KwaZulu-Natal

Dr Dino Carpentras
Marie Curie Fellow @ Social Dynamics Lab
Member of ESSA@work
University of Limerick, Ireland

Machine Learning

Prof Alta de Waal
Department of Statistics,
Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences
University of Pretoria

11. maria schuld

Dr Maria Schuld
Senior Researcher and Software Developer

Knowledge Representation and Reasoning
13. tommie meyer

Prof Thomas Meyer
Professor of Computer Science
Co-Director of the Centre for Artificial Intelligence Research
University of Cape Town

9. Ivan Varzinczak

Prof Ivan Varzinczak
Associate Professor
Université d’Artois
Member of CRIL lab

Quantum Artificial Intelligence
6. Daniel Park

Prof Daniel Kyungdeock Park, Ph.D
Research Professor
Advanced Institute of Nano Technology
Sungkyunkwan University
Seoul, South Korea

4. Ilya Sinayski

Prof Ilya Sinayski
Associate Professor
School of Chemistry and Physics
University of KwaZulu-Natal

Deep Learning
5. deshen moodley

Prof Deshendran Moodley
Associate Professor
Co-Director of the Centre for Artificial Intelligence Research Department of Computer Science
University of Cape Town

2. Marelie Davel

Prof Marelie Davel
Research Professor,
Multilingual Speech Technologies (MuST)
North-West University

Computer Vision and Image Processing
1. DrGwetu
Dr Mandla Gwetu
Senior Lecturer and Head of Discipline of
Computer Science
School Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Science
University of KwaZulu-Natal
7. Jules-Raymond-Tapamo
Prof Jules-Raymond Tapamo
Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering
School of Engineering

University of KwaZulu-Natal